This page is designed to serve as a summary of the best VCAP5-DCA related material you can find. It will be continually updated with new and more detailed information as I work through my own VCAP studies until I pass the exam myself. Come back often to find the latest updates and feel free to suggest a resource in the comments.

Update: 07-April-2014

VMware has announced a new VCAP5-DCA exam based on vSphere 5.5 (VDCA550). I have updated the resources to include the new exam blueprint as well as some additional content.

The Exam 


To be able to attain the VCAP5-DCA certification you must first already have completed one of  the following VCP level exams as well as the required VMware Authorized training courses.

  • VMware Certified Professional 5 - Data Center Virtualization (VCP5-DCV)
  • VMware Certified Professional 5 - Desktop (VCP5-DT)
  • VMware Certified Professional - Cloud (VCP-Cloud)
  • VMware Certified Advanced Professional 4 - Data Center Administration (VCAP4-DCA)

Exam Details

Download the exam blueprint. This will serve as a guide for knowing what is covered on the exam and can be used as a checklist as you progress through your studies.

vSphere 5.5 Based Exam – Exam Code VDCA550 Blueprint

[vSphere 5.0 Based Exam – Exam Code VDCA510 Blueprint


Chris Wahl has converted the exam objectives into a checklist for you to help you organize your studies.

VCAP-DCA 5 Study Sheet

VCAP5 Training

Training Videos


** Study Guides**

VCAP5-DCA Exam Experiences

Learn from those who have already sat the exam. They will provide valuable insights into the nuances of the exam.

VCAP5-DCA Study Tips and Blogs